SLIIT Students win multiple accolades at NBQSA National ICT Awards 2021

Home » SLIIT Students win multiple accolades at NBQSA National ICT Awards 2021
Share with your friend

SLIIT, Faculty of Computing students showcased their immense talent pool by winning multiple awards at the NBQSA National ICT Awards 2021 held recently. 

The NBQSA awards have been organized by the BCS Chartered Institute for IT, the Sri Lankan chapter, for the past two decades. Recognized as the nation’s longest-running National ICT awards for the local software industry, the accolades acknowledge outstanding achievements of individuals, students, entrepreneurs, SMEs and organizations who have contributed initiatives, innovation and services in ICT for the nation’s benefit.

At SLIIT Faculty of Computing, final year undergraduate research projects are selected and submitted as entries for the NBQSA National ICT Awards. In 2021, students completed over 260 projects, while the top 21 projects were selected as entries for the competition. Over the years, SLIIT students research projects have been commended for their ability to meet industry and society needs while maintaining the highest level of academic quality.

Bringing glory to SLIIT, Project Coco-Remady was recognized as the Best Solution addressing the National Disasters (Student category). Dr. Janaka Wijekoon supervised the project, while it was Co-Supervisored by  Ms. Dilani Lunugalage and External Supervisored by Dr. Nayani Aratchige from Coconut Research Institute Sri Lanka. Samitha Vidhanaarachchi, Gnanod Chathuramadu Akalanka, Tinali Gunasekara and Divyani Rajapaksha comprised the winning team.

Project LandVal, won the Bronze in the Tertiary Business category. It was supervised by Dr. Dasuni Nawinna, Co-Supervisor, Ms. Narmada Gamage, with team members Imal Kumarage, Thanuja Chamika Nuwanga Weerakeshara and Heshan Rathnapala.

SLIIT also bagged several Merit awards including Project Agent Hunt winning in the Tertiary Business category. The project was supervised by Mr. Amila Nuwan Senarathne with Mr. Tharindu Dharmasena as the Co-Supervisor. The team comprised Charmin Andreson, Thilina Dharmakeerthi, Yasiru Umesha Wijesiriwardhana and Kasun Athukorala.

Project Lumoz won Merit in the Tertiary Business category. Supervised by Dr. Shyam Reyal, Co-Supervisor Mr. Thusithanjana Thilakarathna while team members were Pubudu Arosha, Vihanga Nivarthana, Bawantha Thilan and Jayani Gankanda.

Project NenaShilpa also won Merit in the Tertiary Technological category. Supervised by Prof. Samantha Thelijjagoda, Co-Supervisor, Ms. Jenny Krishara and External Supervisor Dr. W.M.K. Wanigasingha. Chamil Diluksha, Kalpani Abeysinghe, Pamodya Maheshani and Prabath Shalitha were the team members.

Commenting on SLIIT’s achievements, Dr. Janaka Wijekoon, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Computing, said, “The NBQSA awards are a calendar event which our students look forward to in participating, and it is among their set targets. We firmly believe it provides an impetus for them to excel in their chosen ICT field. This year we have unique winning entries such as the Best Solution for Natural Disasters for the coconut industry and a merit award for devising software for intelligent editing to support journalists. Winning these awards is an honour for our students and also spotlights the researchers who find solutions to challenges through business insights that directly create an impact in industries and society.”

Prof. Chandimal Jayawardena, Dean, Faculty of Computing, said “NNQSA is recognized as a platform to showcase outstanding software industry talent with winners triumphing in future careers. I am delighted that this year too our students have excelled in their efforts through the application of innovation and technology. SLIIT winners this year serve as role models inspiring our youth in their determination to create a flourishing innovation and technology environment in Sri Lanka.

Share with your friend

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: